Skip to content

Bucket List – Guest Post

January 15, 2010

As with the start of every New Year we usually find ourselves making resolutions even though we know we are just going to break them.  I’m tired of making the same old resolutions, only to fail.  I’ve decided that this year is going to be different.

I’m creating my very own BUCKET LIST!
 
A bit morbid you say? If you think about it, no, not really.  It’s just a list of things I want to do before I die.  I’m not limiting myself to any specific time frame, except for the fact that I’d like to get it done before I die.
 
So here’s a list of the top 10 things I’d like to do before I kick the bucket (In no particular order):
 
1)      Take a ride in a Hot Air Balloon – In Napa, CA you can have the best of the wine country by combining two of Napa’s favorites, Napa Valley Balloons, Inc. and the Platypus Tours group wine tour.  Package Rate: $299 / per person.

 2)      Drive a Nascar on a professional race track – You will be provided with classroom instruction on how to drive a real racecar and then you can take the wheel.
Race against your instructor or “ride along” with a veteran Busch North driver. We can
create a racing package to meet any request. Packages start at $199.00 for 10 laps.
 
3)      Swim with Dolphins – The Dolphin Swim Adventure is your chance to live out a classic vacation fantasy and swim with dolphins. You will enjoy a fun belly–ride, handshake, and an unforgettable dolphin kiss! Prices start at $200.00
 
4)      Visit Santorini, Greece – The Cyclades, Aegean, has one of the most spectacular landscapes in Greece and in the world. The traditional villages of the island, built on tall cliffs, offer a breathtaking view over the submerged volcano. They represent the beautiful Greek cliché you have always dreamed about! Among them you mustn’t miss Oia, the place gifted with the most famous and stunning sunsets. You will find on this portal site all the information you need about the island as well as Santorini hotels. I have no idea what this would even cost.
 
5)      Ride a Mule down the Grand Canyon – Riders travel down the canyon walls on the backs of nimble-footed mules that pick their way as delicately as any mountain climber. Led by well trained and experienced guides, mule rides Grand Canyon tours stop every 30 to 45 minutes to rest the mules and drink water; dehydration is a very real risk in the immense heat of the canyon. Prices start at $100.
 
6)      Ride in a Helicopter, preferably around Hawaii – 60 sq. feet of panoramic glass for maximum visibility, 4-camera digital DVD system—cockpit camera puts you in the in-flight video, Two-way communication between you and your pilot, plus Bose® aviation-grade noise-canceling headsets, First-class seats, 23% more cabin area—you’ll love the extra personal space and shoulder room, The most advanced 21st century helicopter technology—ultra quiet, smooth, and fuel efficient. Prices start at $138.00.
 
7)      Paranormal Investigation – I’m not sure how to even go about doing this. I’d like to perform an investigation in an old run down Insane Asylum or Prison.  You’ve seen people do this on TV.  I really want to do this.
 
8)      Indoor Skydiving – Earn Your Wings with two flights in the vertical wind tunnel, the equivalent flight time of three tandem skydives. You also get your training session, use of all the flight gear, and hands on personal assistance from an instructor and a personalized flight certificate. Packages start at $50.
 
9)      Fire a Gun – Classroom session covering safety and the basic fundamentals of shooting.  Our staff will then accompany you to the range and work with first-time shooters while ensuring safety and being available for questions and requests. Packages start at $38.
 
10)   Scuba Diving – On the conservation side, the Caribbean is devoted to the preservation of the underwater environment. It has a host of protected marine parks with thriving aquatic life. Indeed, the area offers the most varied examples of tropical marine life imaginable, including anglefish, barracuda, crabs, dancing eels, goat fish, grouper, lobster, octopus, parrot fish, seahorses, sea turtles, sharks, snappers, spiny puffers, and stingrays. Prices start at $100.
 
So there you have it, the top 10 things I’d like to do before I die.  What’s on your list?         
 
       – LISA ANNE

 Lisa Anne writes the funny and always entertaining blog ‘Smell the Coffee Lisa’, where you can find product reviews, crafts, and even football updates.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 7:38 am

    That’s a great list! I want to do many of the same things too. For the paranormal investigation one, I’m not sure where you’re located, but out by me- near Chicago- there are tons of groups that do offer this, especially around Halloween.

    I would start with a ghost hunter google search (or paranormal investigation) and your city. A lot of groups require you to become a member and participate in training before you can go on an actual hunt, but some don’t.

    Good luck!

  2. January 15, 2010 7:42 am

    What a great list. while I’m too chicken to do a few of those on the list, I still think they are all great ideas!

  3. January 15, 2010 7:42 am

    I so love this list. I’d like to do most of the stuff. Everything except the hot air balloon ride. Me, that far above the ground in a small basket thingy just doesn’t sound like a super good idea.

    I have fired a gun though… but I live in Wyoming so it would practically be a sin if I hadn’t.

    🙂

  4. January 15, 2010 7:43 am

    That’s an awesome list! I would love to swim with dolphins. As for the helicopter ride and the donkey thing..um..NO! I’m too scared of heights.

  5. January 15, 2010 7:46 am

    I am a huge fan and follower of Lisa she is fantastic.

  6. January 15, 2010 7:47 am

    awww mess….. paranormal

    i’ll die happy knowing i NEVER EVER DID THAT.. i won’t clog up wait lists with my name.. YOU CAN HAVE IT LISA!! LOL !

    great list!

    xoxo
    supah

  7. January 15, 2010 7:56 am

    Great list! I want to travel around the world!!!

  8. January 15, 2010 8:08 am

    Love it. You are SO much more adventurous than I! The hot air balloon, grand canyon, helicopter, and nascar would freak me out of my mind, cuz I’m a total chicken, but I would totally ghost-hunt with you 🙂 And most things on my bucket list involve traveling. Greece sounds dreamy.

  9. January 15, 2010 8:14 am

    Swimming with dolphins would be on mine. I love them. However, I’d be afraid that one would try to have a moment of relations with me, since I’ve heard they are very “loving” creatures…

  10. January 15, 2010 8:31 am

    I’ll do everything but the death ride with the mules and the ghostbuster thing.

    Whoa, wait. I just read that the scuba diving isn’t a shark free zone. Mark me off of that one too!

  11. January 15, 2010 8:42 am

    I’m with Princess…I do not particularly like anything that induces my internal ‘Fight or Flight’ impulse.
    I am definitely NOT an adrenaline junkie!

  12. January 15, 2010 8:57 am

    wow, that is an impressive list. i have a friend who runs a paranormal investigation organization in UT. they are going up to Wyoming to check out a library that was built ontop of an old cemetary. she is totally excited!

    • January 15, 2010 8:59 am

      Ohhh man I so wish it was my library!! Do you know what town?

      • January 15, 2010 2:23 pm

        She said it was in Green River, WY, apparently it was an old pioneer cemetary. they moved the cemetary, but apparently didn’t move everyone. so it is supposedly haunted.

  13. January 15, 2010 9:10 am

    That is a great list! And you know I bet you can do it.

  14. January 15, 2010 10:39 am

    What a great list! I would be way too scared to swim with dolpins. I have heard way too many horror stories of dolphins trying to mate with humans – I don’t want to go there, lol!

  15. January 15, 2010 11:38 am

    You are definitely into the thrills. I think I would be too scared to try most of these. I like tamer adventures generally but I did #9 already! It was a blast.

  16. Margaret permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:22 pm

    That is a really great list!

  17. January 15, 2010 2:42 pm

    I’d love to visit Greece. Other than that, you are far too adventurous for me! But, I hope you do all of these things and then blog about them so I can read it.

  18. January 15, 2010 4:15 pm

    Great list! I LOVE LISA!! : )

  19. January 15, 2010 4:26 pm

    Thanks everyone for the comments and reading my guest post.

    I’m actually not that adventurous. I’m hoping someone will just drag me to do these things because some of them I don’t think I even have the nerve to make the reservations. I’m a good sport though and will go along with it, if someone brings me. Plus I’m sure once you do it, you’ll be like, that was fun I want to do that again!

    Though during, I’m scared as heck of heights, so I’ll probably be crying and possibly wetting my pants on the balloon the ride. However, I think it would be worth it. Same with ghost hunting, I’d probably cry during that too.

    Thanks again for reading my post!! I look forward to visiting you all!

  20. January 15, 2010 5:08 pm

    Love It! I agree, much better than resolutions!

  21. January 15, 2010 6:45 pm

    Wow! Your list is incredible. I am such a scaredy cat when it comes o most of that. I have seen ghost and I THINK I would like the paranormal thing. Great list, nice to meet you!

  22. January 16, 2010 11:41 pm

    The mediteranean is on my list too! And I didn’t realize that the indoor wind tunnels were so afordable! Now I know what to give LLV for his birthday!

Leave a Reply

