Skip to content

De-Heffing – Guest Post

January 29, 2010

Seriously. How do I follow the last guest post? I will try. I was very happy to be asked to guest post on We Believe Blogs. I love to Blog and since I have 8 wonderful followers on my own blog…yes…Eight. Wonderful. Followers. Then I must really know what I’m talking about!  I got really nervous, thinking…Oh Crap, what I post here, will actually be read!!
At any rate, it made me feel really good and I love blogging, so here I am.
 
For three years now, I have been trying to de-HEFF.
        
               Heff(n)-being a large girl, or considered fat, obese or of a large state of mass. Otherwise known as Heffer. Has been mistaken as Hugh Hefner, however has no relation…what-so-ever.
 
Anyway, through many mistakes, a couple of pregnancies, and a fast food world, I have had more success than failure. The lady at the DMV today actually stated that my 60 pound less picture looked much better. She even emphasized ‘Much Better’.  And those people over there are never friendly! I was so happy!
 
Now, Some of you skinny things are lucky to be born with Metabolisms that are like an a ADD kid on speed, but other Heffs like me…not so much. I have been doing these wonderful 400 calorie meals, 4 of them a day, and an hour workout…and trust me, just thinking about doing that makes my eyes glaze over. However, it works. So, we as a family have been gettin our bake on with all these recipes that are surprisingly good! Here is the latest one.

Grilled Cheese With Turkey & Tomato
Ingredients:

2 slices whole-grain bread
1 slice cheddar cheese
2 ounces sliced turkey
1 slice tomato
Cooking spray
1/2 cup pea pods
2 tablespoons low-fat ranch dressing
Make it: Make sandwich with bread, cheese, turkey and tomato. Coat a skillet with cooking spray and toast sandwich for about 3 minutes on each side, until bread is golden brown and cheese is melted. Serve with pea pods and ranch dressing.
 
    The kids liked this one, especially the pea pods. I started out when they were still young, so I didn’t damage them too much. They love veggies and fruit…the little freaks.
    Anyway, you have heard my Heff story, what I really need is good recipes and ideas. I am tired of walking around with five pound weights on my ankles all day! Seriously…any ideas you skinny smarties have at all, except to not get fat in the first place, yeah…heard that one already. And lastly, if I can do it, seriously, anyone can!!
I love reading ya’lls blogs and I can’t wait to see what ya’ll will come up with next! Thanks a ton! ~Big Mama!

Big Mama’s blog, The Bristol Project, is full of funny stories, great recipes, and weight loss antics. Rheanna, aka Big Mama,  loves being a mom to her crazy household. She also love to hike, sew, exercise, read, blog, bake, and anything else she can do with my kids. Head over there and tell her hello 🙂

PS If you are interested in guest blogging drop us an email at webelieveblogs@gmail.com

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 7:40 am

    Congrats on your weight loss thus far. 60 lbs is amazing.

    I don’t have any suggestions though. I have major struggles of my own…mostly will power.

  2. January 29, 2010 8:34 am

    I’m also a Heffa. I actually have a large group of friends and we refer to each other as Heffas – a term of endearment 🙂

    Also, since I am a heffa, and my favorite bar in the world is called Hogs & Heifers, I happen to be wearing my hogs & heifers t-shirt today. Huh. What are the odds? It must be Heffer/Heffa/Heifer day!

    Congrats on your weight loss so far! I wish I could say that I’ve lost that much, but I love food. A lot.

    Hang in there and YAY YOU!

    Heffas 4 Eva!

  3. January 29, 2010 1:13 pm

    I wasn’t a Heffa until I went past 24. Then, I noticed my metabolism slowed down and I began to grow sideways. Hubby met me fat and fell in love with me and for a time, I thought that was cool that he loved me for who I was. The thing is, I didn’t like the outer me. It didn’t feel right. I lost 55 lbs.
    All was ok in the physical department. Then, I was blessed with a child, and I went back up to an extra 70 lbs.
    So here I am, a Heffa, one more time, and like you, doing something about it.

    Loved your post!

  4. January 29, 2010 2:06 pm

    That is amazing congrats on the weight loss!! And that lunch looks really good.

  5. January 30, 2010 1:25 am

    Congrats on the de-heff-inating. 🙂

  6. January 30, 2010 8:41 am

    That sandwich looks so yummy. I’m definitely going to have to try this one for the family. Thanks for guest posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

