Skip to content

But I Was Going To Rule The World – Guest Post

February 17, 2010

If you had told me fifteen years ago that I would be living the life I am now, I would have told you that you were off your rocker. I was going to be super woman. I was going to perfectly balance a fabulous career, a perfect family, and a perfect house. I was going to rule the world! And, what happened to that 20 year olds plan you ask? Stretch marks. That’s what…

I am the mother of three boys. A 12yr old comedian, a 10yr old mad scientist, and an 8yr old that is all boy and slowly making my hair turn gray. My career is something that I let go of long ago and our house is loud, messy, and full of boy humor. In my world I balance a constant stream of potty jokes, a laundry room on the verge of exploding, and the schedule of a 5 people running in opposite directions. On days that everything goes according to plan I can fit in a run and shower but, most days I end up having to choose one or the other. The perfectly coifed super woman of my youthful fantasy exclusively resides somewhere in an old dusty scrapbook.

No. My life is nothing like I thought it would be. It’s so much better. Different, but better. How boring would my days be without the laughter, the boogers, and the love? Yes, amid the piles of dirty socks and underwear the boys like to hide in their dressers (gross!) and the knock down drag out fights that break out over who ate the last cookie (as if I will never make anymore), I live a life full of love.

At the end of the day I would change nothing about my life (except possibly hiring a laundress. I really hate laundry). And the honest truth is that my boys make me the super woman I was planning to be, stretch marks, gray hair, and all.


Christina, Magically Ordinary –
I am somewhere in my mid thirties with one husband, three boys, and two dogs. I am over committed and under paid. More often than not I’m a bit snarky. I love to escape into a good book and go for a long run. My blog is about my sometimes comical and quite often chaotic life. My ordinary but never dull life. My always magical life.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 6:57 am

    Great post. While thinking about adding a third to our family (2 boys already), your post makes me think extra hard about the possibility of having 3 boys. LOL

    In all seriousness, we really DO have to been super women to just get through the day, don’t we?

    • February 17, 2010 9:42 am

      DO IT! My third boy is about to turn a year old and while it’s total chaos it’s amazing!

  2. February 17, 2010 7:14 am

    Loved this post! Hey, you may not be superwoman, but it sounds like you’ve got your priorities straight and that is what’s most important! I think that superwoman is highly overrated!! πŸ™‚

  3. February 17, 2010 9:34 am

    I love this! It is so true that our lives may not have turned out exactly like we were planning but I like to think they’ve definitely turned out the way they were supposed to.

  4. February 17, 2010 9:43 am

    Awwww… After reading this, I totally feel bad about stealing your tiara!

  5. February 17, 2010 10:12 am

    Yes, you can have this amazing perfect plan and then you have kids and everything changes. A lot of the changes are good and wonderful but definitely changes.

  6. February 18, 2010 9:06 am

    What a great post! A lot of us can relate to the fact that our lives now are nothing like we ever imagined but are so much better. Thanks for sharing!

  7. February 18, 2010 10:53 am

    Terrific post! I’d say that surviving all the boys in the house makes you a definite super woman. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

